Inspiration

It’s Friday So Here’s Some Music

“How little is needed for happiness! The note of a bagpipe.– Without music life would be a mistake.” – Fredrick Nietzsche in Maxims and Arrows

As I write this I can hear the women in the dorm next to me singing.

I’m taking a philosophy course this semester and we’re currently sludging our way through some Nietzsche. Despite his slightly pessimistic but realist outlook on things (he has been labeled a christian-hater, crazy, and believes the world is sick), he still stops to acknowledge music. I want to avoid any unnecessary, repetitive cliches about music and its immense power and just say— I enjoy music and exploring new genres. I’m terrible at knowing and naming genres.

Because I think music is an important detail in defining yourself and keeping your spirit lively, especially when you wake up in the morning and trying to find something to wear, I’m going to share some of the things I’ve been listening to lately.

I’ve been experiencing some bouts of anxiety lately and yesterday I crawled in bed with my headphones and phone, pulled the covers over my head, and fell asleep listening to Helvetia.

Within the last year or so I’ve been exploring a new genre for me. You could call it chillhop or triphop or experimental hip hop. It’s generally produced electronically and with the use of samples. Below is one of the first artists and songs that got me hooked.

If you enjoyed the style of the song above, Chillhop Records is a platform that puts out awesome compilations of various artists from that genre. It’s great for exploring some new artists in a genre you’re unfamiliar with and many of them are free.

This is a song I keep returning to. I love both of the Smith kids’ style. They’re both so unique and unapologetic. I would consider them style icons. This song makes me feel powerful. It’s very ethereal.

Gabriella Cohen is one of my favorite artists right now. I love her lyrics and I love her slightly undone sound. She’s sassy and sad and mixed up and brilliant and “can’t tell a lie.”

One last track that’s a more recent discovery. Moow uses samples more perfectly than anyone I’ve ever heard before. The first time I heard this song I just listened to it on repeat three more times.

What do you think? Have you been listening to anything great lately?

Best,

Natalie

Leave a Reply

