Personal Story

What does passion look like?

IMG_2120

This is a photo of me in the Atacama Desert, Chile with a rented bicycle riding into the sunset (literally) which is why I look so happy. I’ve been looking to photos lately to serve as a reminder of who I am and what kinds of things I like doing. Four years of trying your hardest can be hard on the self.

I’ve recently discovered something I should have discovered a long time ago.

I wonder if you’ve ever experienced a time in your life where you can’t seem to figure out what you’re passionate about? I think as a college student people are always talking about whether or not you should or could pursue your passion and pursue your career; however, i’m always stuck way at the beginning of that question wondering what the heck kind of thing I could consider to be my passion. I’m going to tell you something that’s going to blow your mind. well probably not but it felt like an epiphany to me. Okay, ready? here it is. I AM PASSIONATE about… thrifting. I feel like I’ve never considered this a passion because a passion is supposed to be something spectacular and involve talent. But more recently as I near graduation and am thinking more consciously about what kinds of things bring me satisfaction, I think I might want to give sewing and fashion a try again. At least a good hobby effort.

For the last four years I’ve been a college student. My freshman year I came in as a fashion design major. I’d been sewing since I was 10 years old. But then something happened. I worried I wouldn’t get the authentic college experience by sewing all the time. I worried people would look at me differently when they heard I was a fashion major. And they did. So I changed my major. And I changed it again, reverting back to something people always told me I was good at: English Writing.

Yet I am not finding joy in this. It is not creative writing, like my hopeful young self had assumed. It is “writing for new media” which entails a lot of different types of writing and only 2 creative writing classes. Instead I find myself filling my Pinterest board with sewing project ideas for post-graduation and dreaming about more thrifting.

Screen Shot 2017-03-27 at 1.18.47 AM

When I first moved to the city of Milwaukee and was still friendly with the idea of making fashion a serious passion, I went to several hipster flea markets and diy craft shows. I browsed all the curated vintage clothing and wondered if this could be my life.

But for some reason I then walked away. Now I’m wondering what it’d be like to give it a try. I want to make linen jumpers and embroider vintage pants. Drive around the state of Wisconsin searching for items to wear and sell and photograph. Maybe just for the summer?

Pondering.

Best,
Natalie

P.S. I just read “7 Looks to Help You Master West Coast Casual” and found some exciting ideas. navy blue stripes and lots of denim and of course rompers.

Leave a Reply

